First United Methodist Church

 
 OUR HISTORY
The third and current location of the Methodist Church at Kansas and Main was built in 1954, with the first service taking place on Palm Sunday in 1957.
 
Herb and Bonnie Clutter, who were active members of the church, were instrumental in raising funds for the construction of the current building. The stained-glass window overlooking the balcony of our sanctuary stands as a memorial, posthumously dedicated in their memory.
 
Several ministries and traditions have continued throughout the years including, the Living Christmas which was written by Bernadine Sitts in 1956 and the Bernadine Bell Choir, also initiated by Bernadine Sitts with the purchase of 25 bells in 1968.
 
The spirit of stewardship continues most recently with the gracious gift of $2.3 million from Erma Adamson in 2015 to build the addition of a Welcome Center. The blessings we receive continue due to our love, stewardship, fellowship and the grace of God.
 
 
Clutter Window